Lincoln University Scholarships

If you’d like to apply for a scholarship for the 2024 intake, or to get more information please contact, or see the information on Lincoln University’s website. Applicants should submit game film of themselves playing to James. Canterbury Basketball is now only involved with selection and development of female basketball players Please note, these scholarships are for NZ/Australian citizens or Permanent Residents only.

In 2013 Basketball was included as a full scholarship sport at Lincoln University for the first time. LU’s Basketball Sports Scholarships cover $6,000 in tuition fees for a full-time course of study each year, as well as providing intensive, sport-specific training delivered by the University’s Sport Scholarship team, and specialist Basketball Coaches. Accommodation and textbooks/course related costs are the responsibility of the applicant if successful.

Other services included in the Basketball Sports Scholarship programme are strength and conditioning, nutrition for sporting performance, mental skills and sports specific skill coaching. Lincoln University Sport Scholars also receive individual performance planning – including technical and tactical development, game analysis, goal setting and long-term career planning services. Accommodation and textbooks/course related costs are the responsibility of the applicant if successful, but with the Government’s “Fees Free” initiative, accepted students will receive funding through this avenue in addition to their sports scholarship.

The university says its basketball scholarships can be quite flexible, with athletes able to compete (including for teams in the National or Tauihi Basketball Leagues) and study. 2022 saw ten current or former LU scholars signed and playing for a team in their respective National League. In 2021 Lincoln had their first ever basketball scholar selected for a NZ National Team, with Lauryn Hippolite (above) travelling to Jordan to compete in the FIBA Asia Cup. 

Clive Beaumont, CBA General Manager says “The Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship provides student athletes with a well-balanced programme combining academic endeavours with basketball development in the pursuit of excellence. Access to the supportive staff and excellent facilities within a high-performance environment will allow players to develop to a level where they can have success on the sporting stage while at the same time succeeding in life. Canterbury Basketball Association looks forward to this partnership with Lincoln University.”


The LU basketball teams have experienced multiple international trips representing the university. In 2022, the men’s 3×3 team travelled to Japan to compete in the 3X3.EXE Playoffs, while the women’s team went to Turkey and represented NZ in the FISU University World Cup.


We wish to congratulate some of our past Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship recipients, as well as congratulate our latest basketball scholarship class, who the members of have now begun their studies:



Jarred Burnett

Middleton Grange School (Christchurch)

Canterbury/Waitaha U19 team 2017




Lauryn Hippolite

Middleton Grange School (Christchurch)

Whelan Trophy First Team 2017; Junior Tall Fern 2017; BBNZ U19 Tournament Team 2018; Hawaii Pacific University (NCAA DII) 2018 – 2019; Canterbury Wildcats 2017, 2018, 2020




Corban Mason

Hamilton Boys’ High (Hamilton)

NZ U16 Team 2016; NZ Secondary School 3×3 Bronze Medalist 2018; Super 8 Tournament Team 2018; Waikato U19 Team 2018, 2019




Pafe Momoisea

Manurewa High School (Auckland)

Counties Manukau U19 team 2017; Auckland U23 team 2018, 2019; Coker College (NCAA DII) 2018, 2019




Noa Price

Rangiora High School (Rangiora)

Canterbury/Waitaha U17 and U19 teams 2017, 2018, 2019; Thomson Trophy Team MVP 2019


Rosalia Samia

Napier Girls’ High (Napier)

NZ U17 team 2017; NZ U18 team 2018; Taranaki Thunder 2018; Canterbury Wildcats 2019, 2020


2020 and 2021 Recipients:

Kaleb Chamberlain Shirley Boys’ High (Christchurch)

Kate Herman Lincoln High School (Canterbury)

Simon Lafaele St. John’s College (Hamilton)

Tanae Lavery St. Andrew’s College (Christchurch)

Pita Maxwell-Topia Rosmini College (Auckland)

Grace McGirr St. Peter’s School (Cambridge)

Flynn McGuinness St. Andrew’s College (Christchurch)

Phoenix Sorenson Mount Albert Grammar School (Auckland)


A list of previous and graduated basketball scholars can be seen here.

Lincoln University offers sports scholarships in cricket, netball, hockey, rowing and rugby.  In addition there is the ‘elite’ scholarship awarded to strong individual athletes competing in other sporting codes.

Peter Magson of Lincoln University’s sports programme says “we are continuously watching what all sporting codes are doing and assessing our programmes against what is needed at the representative level.  We initiated talks around the basketball scholarship in response to a general increase in awareness and interest in the sport, as well as because we were seeing a number of sports scholars coming through who are very strong basketball players.”

Lincoln University has the longest-running university sports scholarship programme in New Zealand and can claim Lauryn Hippolite (Basketball), Richie McCaw (rugby), Sam Whitelock (rugby) and Amy Satterthwaite (cricket) amongst previous students who have been through the scholarship programme.

Applications for these basketball scholarships normally open in May each year at the Lincoln University