Diane Fenika Awarded Public Service Medal

CBA Board member Diana Fenika was recently recognized for her meritorious work in public service

We were really proud to find out to one of our members, who currently is serving on our Board was recognised for her outstanding work. Read on to see why Diane was awarded a Public Service Medal.

Diane understands that building enduring relationships with communities relies on earning trust and respect. For her, every day brings new opportunities to do this in her work with South Island Pacific communities.

Diane has outstanding engagement skills, sharpened in her 19 years of proud service in the public sector. These skills draw on her ability to enable dynamic conversations in a way that reflects the many different perspectives Pacific communities have to share – people’s stories, experiences and views.

She works tirelessly to make sure these stories are heard and seen in the design and implementation of community programmes affecting Pacific people.

She’s passionate about her work, in particular, supporting the development of young Pacific leaders, where she is known for creating a safe space for Pacific voices to be nurtured and heard.

For demonstrating an exceptional spirit of service to her community, Diane is a worthy recipient of the New Zealand Public Service Medal.

Info republished from the State Services Commission

He Tohu Ratonga Tūmatanui (New Zealand Public Service Medal)

The New Zealand Public Service Medal is awarded to public servants who have given meritorious service.

Medal recipients are people who:

  • Have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to New Zealand and New Zealanders
  • Are exemplary, or a model for other Public Service employees
  • Bring significant benefit to New Zealand or the Public Service
  • Are exceptional and otherwise worthy of recognition.

The New Zealand Public Service Medal was established by Royal Warrant in 2018 and is part of the New Zealand Royal Honours system.

Five medals were awarded for the first time in November 2018. In 2019, six medals were awarded.


other headlines: