2022 First Teams Announced

Congratulations to the five basketball players in each grade who were recognized ahead of the season conclusion

We recognised the five players voted in by the teams in their grade as members of the CBA First team, and grade MVP, in the lead up to our Grand Finals Weekends. Our Major Award Winners can be seen here.

Under 13 Boys
Aidan Delahunty – Selwyn Hawks A
Louis Dowall – Gators Grey
Benji Habinshuti – Horomaka Gators
Samuel Ovalle-Pasten – Gators Grey
Max Wallace – North Canterbury Tigers


Under 13 Girls
Lucy Cliff – North Canterbury White
Lola Harris – Pioneer
Lucy Pratley – Halswell
Maiyah Profit – Gators
Maniah Taefu – Halswell


Under 15 Boys
Ihaka Cate – Christ’s College Black
Jake Holmes – Rangiora
William Hull – Cashmere Year 10
Mana Martin – St. Thomas Thunder
Boston Paerata – Kaiapoi


Under 16 Girls
Poppie Busch-Ward – Checkers
Moira Fetu – Halswell
Aine Leeson – North Canterbury Maroon
Jaeda Lynch-Brown – Checkers
Alyssa Proctor-McGregor – Gators


Under 17 Boys
Nikou Fox – Shirley Boys’ High Spartans
Arron Malonzo – Riccarton Gators
Mana Martin – St. Thomas Saints
Kobe Murdoch – Rangiora
Cooper Siave – St. Bede’s Red


Under 20 Men
Jayden Bamford – North Canterbury Maroon
Harrison Earl – Checkers Redbacks
James Leen – St. Bede’s Checkers
Faanuu Muao – Gators Grey
Alex Taylor – North Canterbury Maroon


Under 23 Men
Zach Hannen – Gators
Joel Jeffrey – Atami
Simon Lafaele – Lincoln University
Quinn Lavery – Pioneer
Tanae Lavery – Lincoln University


Division One Men
Tommy Fairbrother – Gators Green
Jesse Kocroft – Gators Green
Jordyn Kauta – Warthog Wolverines
Justin Kent – North Canterbury Bears
Logan Woodill – Wolverines Blue


Division One Women
Kelsey Bewley – UC Maroon
Ashlee Bilbrough – Atami
Victoria King – Halswell Red
Joanna MacAskill – Checkers
Abby Prattley – North Canterbury


Premier Men
Ben Constable – Pioneer
Ben Hall – Checkers
Joel Jeffrey – Atami
Jozef Knottenbelt – Gators
Quinn Lavery – Pioneer


Premier Women
Fran Edmondson – Atami
Gemma Etheredge – North Canterbury
Kate Herman – LU
Nicole Gleason – Checkers
Hannah Mischewski – Halswell


Midweek Men
Chris Johnston – Atami Casa De Banos
Bradley Lang – Atami
Angus Lindstrom – Atami
Jake Simpson – Atami Senors
Seddon Smith – Royals


Midweek Women
Tracy Buchanan – Halswell Red
Jo Casey – Pioneer Pumas
Madison Hides – Checkers
Isabella Luhetoa – Halswell Red
Georgie Sandilands – Halswell Green


other headlines: